Tourists can enjoy the country all year-round, but most prefer the dry season from November to April. However, many travel during the rainy low season from May to October, when the greenery is lusher. The average temperature is 21°C (70°F) in the highlands, and 28°C (82°F) in the lowlands near the coasts. Because the climate is mild throughout the year, it is said that Costa Rica is the land of eternal spring. Even in the rainy season, the mornings are sunny and clear.


Costa Rica offers a large fleet of late-model motor coaches, deluxe buses, microbuses and vans to suit any kind of traveling needs. To ensure a comfortable ride, all vehicles have air-conditioning, and the larger coaches are equipped with video monitors and washroom facilities.

Entry Requirements

Most foreigners, including U.S. and Canadian citizens and Western Europeans, need only present a valid passport that will not expire within 90 days entry into the country.

Citizens with a passport from any of the following countries can stay in Costa Rica for 90 days without a visa: Argentina, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Denmark, Finland, France and dependencies, Germany, Greece, Holland and dependencies, Hungary, Israel, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico , Romania, South Korea, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States, Czech Republic and Uruguay.

Citizens with valid passports from any of the following countries can stay in Costa Rica for 30 days without a visa, and once in the country they can request an “Extension of Tourism” to the Migration Office, which allows an extension of their stay for a total of 90 days

Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Chile, Dominica, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Honduras, Iceland, Ireland, Jamaica, Kenya, Mexico, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, San Cristóbal , San Marino, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent, Singapore, Slovakia, South Africa, Suriname, Taiwan, Turkey, The Vatican, Venezuela, Estonia and Monaco.

Citizens of countries that do not appear in the above lists, must obtain a visa from a Costa Rican Embassy or Consulate before traveling here.